Hall of Fame

Podium Finishers

YearVenue1st PlaceSecond PlaceThird Place
2004Temora, NSWAdam WoolleyGarret WillatDavid McManus
2005Leeton, NSWDavid McManusAndre WeidlichHeath L'Estrange
2006Leeton, NSWJames DutschkeTodd SandercockAdam Woolley
2007Gawler, SASarah AllenHeath L'EstrangeAndrew Maddocks
2008Benalla, VICNathan JohnsonAndrew MaddocksAdam I'Anson
2009Narromine, NSWNathan JohnsonAndrew MaddocksDane Dickinson
2010Waikerie, SAAndrew MaddocksMatthew ScutterNathan Johnson
2011Kingaroy, QLDAndrew MaddocksNathan JohnsonNick Maddocks
2012Lake Keepit, NSWAndrew MaddocksColin StaussNathan Johnson
2013Narromine, NSWMatthew ScutterAlex McCawEric Stauss
2014 - Club ClassNarromine, NSWJoe O'DonnellEric StaussLuke O'Donnell
2014 - 15m ClassNarromine, NSWMatthew ScutterAilsa McMillanFrederik Nøddelund
2015West Wyalong, NSWReuben LaneDavid CollinsChris Jesse
2016Temora, NSWJames NugentJoe O'DonnellDavid Collins

Schempp-Hirth Trophy, Southern Cross GC Trophy, and Joey Cup

Schempp-Hirth Trophy

To be awarded to the pilot judged by his/her fellow contestants as having displayed the best citizenship/airmanship during the contest. The trophy was donated by Chris Kiehn of Fibremites, the Australian agent for Schempp-Hirth

Southern Cross Gliding Club Trophy

Awarded for the highest placed pilot at their first Australian Junior Gliding Championship.

Joey Cup

The Joey Cup is awarded to a person following the application of a ‘weight for age’ type formula. This formula takes a pilot’s score, and divides it by the cubed root of a their total hours. It was donated by Al Sim of GoSoaring.

YearVenueSchempp-Hirth TrophySouthern Cross GC TrophyJoey Cup
2004Temora, NSW--Heath L'Estrange
2005Leeton, NSWCaleb WhiteNathan Johnson (6th)Jade Palmer
2006Leeton, NSWLuke TillerJames Dutschke (1st)James Dutschke
2007Gawler, SANathan JohnsonEric Stauss (8th)Eric Stauss
2008Benalla, VICAngus StewartAdam Henderson (5th)Adam Henderson
2009Narromine, NSWAdam WebbMatthew Scutter (8th)Matthew Scutter
2010Waikerie, SAAdam WebbLuke Pavy (10th)Matthew Scutter
2011Kingaroy, QLDMichael ConwayMichael Conway (8th)Michael Conway
2012Lake Keepit, NSWMartin RuleAilsa McMillan (7th)Sam Schoneveld
2013Narromine, NSWAndrew MaddocksJames Nugent (12th)Dylan Lampard
2014Narromine, NSWJames NugentRyan Griffin (10th)Andrew Grandja
2015West Wyalong, NSWAndrew GrandjaDavid Collins (2nd)David Collins
2016Temora, NSWAndrew GrandjaDale Perkins (11th)David Collins

State of Origin Plate, Catherine Conway Cup, and AAFC Trophy

State of Origin Plate

To be awarded to the Junior State Team, the members of which are declared prior to Day 1, which achieves the highest aggregate score. This trophy was donated by the Gliding Federation of Australia

The Catherine Conway Cup

It is to be awarded to the highest placed female pilot at the Australian Junior Gliding Championship each year. It was donated by Internode in recognition of the contribution made, and still being made, by Cath Conway in her role of Sports Coach.

AAFC Trophy

Awarded for the most meritorious performance by an AAFC cadet at JoeyGlide.

YearVenueThe State of Origin PlateCatherine Conway CupAAFC Trophy
2004Temora, NSW---
2005Leeton, NSWQueenslandSarah Allen-
2006Leeton, NSWQueenslandSarah Allen-
2007Gawler, SAQueenslandSarah Allen-
2008Benalla, VICNew South Wales--
2009Narromine, NSWNew South WalesStephanie Hargraves-
2010Waikerie, SANew South Wales--
2011Kingaroy, QLDQueensland--
2012Lake Keepit, NSWSouth AustraliaAilsa McMillan-
2013Narromine, NSWQueenslandAilsa McMillan-
2014Narromine, NSWNew South WalesAilsa McMillanMitch Turner (212 SQN)
2015West Wyalong, NSWVictoriaBrooke AndersonChris Jesse (217 SQN)
2016Temora, NSWVictoriaBrooke AndersonMitch Turner (212 SQN)

George Lee Trophy and Junior Trans-Tasman Trophy

The George Lee Trophy

Awarded for the Highest Handicapped Speed at the Australian Junior Gliding Championship.

Junior Trans-Tasman Trophy

This trophy is to be contested between a pre-nominated pilot from Australia and New Zealand during the Junior Nationals. It may be contested in Australia or New Zealand. This trophy was donated by the Gliding Federation of Australia

YearVenueGeorge Lee TrophyJunior Trans-Tasman Trophy
2004Temora, NSW--
2005Leeton, NSWHeath L'Estrange (103kph)Australia (Heath L'Estrange)
2006Leeton, NSWAndrew MaddocksAustralia (Colin Stauss)
2007Gawler, SAAustralia (Johnathon Williams)
2008Benalla, VICNathan Johnson (120.9kph)Australia (Liam Donald)
2009Narromine, NSWAndrew Maddocks (111.5kph)New Zealand (Dane Dickinson)
2010Waikerie, SAAndrew Maddocks (113.9kph)-
2011Kingaroy, QLDAndrew Maddocks (112.2kph)-
2012Lake Keepit, NSWMatthew Scutter (128.2kph)New Zealand (Nick Oakley)
2013Narromine, NSWEric Stauss (126.9kph)New Zealand (Alex McCaw)
2014Narromine, NSWMatthew Scutter (126.1kph)Australia (Sam Schoneveld)
2015West Wyalong, NSWReuben Lane (125.6kph)-
2016Temora, NSWJames Nugent (120.4kph)-

Competition Directors

YearVenueCompetition Director
2004Temora, NSWMitch Turner
2005Leeton, NSWNick Gilbert
2006Leeton, NSWNick Gilbert
2007Gawler, SANick Gilbert
2008Benalla, VICHeath L'Estrange
2009Narromine, NSWHeath L'Estrange
2010Waikerie, SAGus Stewart
2011Kingaroy, QLDAdam Woolley
2012Lake Keepit, NSWIan Downes
2013Narromine, NSWLiam Donald
2014Narromine, NSWAdam Webb
2015West Wyalong, NSWMatt Gage
2016Temora, NSWNathan Johnson